Internship 101: What to Wear

With it being Monday, the typical start to the workday flow for many, I decided to do a post on ideas on what to wear for an internship. This summer, I am interning at Mata Traders, a fairly traded fashion line that works with artisans in both India and Nepal to create their products. For any internship, it can be challenging to figure out how to balance your personal style with keeping a polished, head to toe look.

The first step is picking out the top. I chose a black H&M long-sleeved blouse with white dots. Wearing a black or white top gives more options with colors and styles for accessories. Tuck the top into a black pencil skirt or sharp black pants for a polished look, compared to jeans or leggings. Pair this with a some black pencil heels or flats and voila! Your apparel and shoes are on point! You could also save your shoes for last to match them with the color of your accessories.

The final step is where the fun begins: accessorizing! I chose the Malabar Necklace in Terracotta handmade in India by Mata Traders to jazz up my outfit. Sometimes, a solid-colored, bold necklace is all you need to personalize work-wear apparel, but feel free to experiment with different prints and styles, as long as it doesn’t get overwhelming. You can keep it simple with studs for earring and match your necklace color to bag color like I did with my Steve Madden printed tote. This tote is the perfect size to fit my laptop, notebook, and water bottle in comfortably.

IMG_3276

Coming up soon: Internship 101: What’s in My Bag?

What would you wear for your internship?

Leave a comment